Luggage

I have gone everywhere and nowhere
since the last time I saw you.
Voyaging frequently,
I carry everything that I need in a suitcase.

But, unpacking is tedious
when the place is so familiar.
Though, I dare not leave anything
here.

I neatly unfold the contents of my case
Coupling a polo with chinos,
t-shirt with jeans–
a ritual of garments and expressions.

It’s amazing how we condense ourselves
when required.
Carefully selecting the essentials and
abandoning the unnecessary with reckless precision.

So here I am once again
unfurling my things across the duvet.
Reorganizing what I deem valuable
and tidying my world inside a box.

I have gone everywhere and nowhere
packing and unpacking and packing.
Yet, all that I seem to carry
is everything that I left behind.

 

 

Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

Leave a comment